Quick Doggy Treats

It’s just to cold to get out of the house tonight. My doggies are out of cookies. Yes, we have treats but no cookies. JenJen was just staring at me. She knows I couldn’t continue avoiding her attempt to get my attention.  Finally she speaks!

I find myself searching the kitchen and her blanket looking for a piece or few crumbs she tucked away. No luck. Tried playing with her. No, she wants a treat.

Soon I find myself in the kitchen scouring the refrigerator. Nothing good for her in there.  She’s disappointed.

Turning to my computer I begin my search for home-made dog treats. Found a couple of recipes that seem to be simple. Yes! I have the ingredients. Digging out the cookie cutters I bought for my grand daughter’s last birthday party I find a bone shape. This is perfect.

Less than an hour later she is enjoying her new cookies.

These are peanut butter. They smell great. Really they have no flavor, similar to what cardboard would taste like I imagine. JenJen is happy and I can continue to enjoy my evening.

 

About Melissa Jackson

I'm a native Texan living in Parker County, Texas. My hobbies include fishing, scuba diving, riding our horses, attending various rodeo events and local trail rides. I enjoy spending time with family and friends. Working with buyers and sellers in both single family homes and farm / ranch sales. As a Realtor in the Fort Worth Metroplex I serve clients in Parker and Tarrant County. Dedicated to helping my buyers and sellers navigate the current real estate market utilizing the latest technologies, market research and business strategies. No two transactions are the same and yours will receive my personal attention. Communication and personal service is top priority for my clients. I will use my skills to make your dreams a reality!
This entry was posted in Quick Doggy Treats and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick Doggy Treats

  1. Cheryl says:

    Could you send us the recipe? I don’t like not knowing what’s in those cheap dog treats at the store, and wondering if the expensive ones are any different.

    • Sure, the second batch we added little bit of vanilla flavoring.

      2 cups whole wheat flour
      1 tbsp baking powder
      1 cup peanut butter… any type, I use smooth- low fat
      1 cup milk

      Heat oven about 375. Mix flour and baking powder. In different bowl mix peanut butter and milk. Mix all together. Using lightly floured surface knead then roll dough to 1/4 inch thickness. Using cookie cutters to make shapes. Bake 20 minutes. Well, depends cook til browned lightly.. just watch after 15. These burn quickly. Put them in air tight container.

Leave a Reply

